

Breviate of Meeting of the Transportation Strategic Policy Committee Held on 19th April, 2018

Item No.

- Minutes of meeting held on 7th February, 2018.
 Minutes agreed.
- 2. Metrolink presentation by Ms Anne Graham, CEO, National Transport Authority.

Ms Anne Graham, CEO, NTA, gave an overview of the proposed key public transport projects, and Mr Aidan Foley, Project Director Metrolink, gave a presentation on the proposed Metrolink. Details of the Metrolink project are available at www.metrolink.ie

Presentation noted.

3. College Green – verbal update

Mr Brendan O'Brien, a/Executive Manager (Traffic), reported on the recent An Bord Pleanála oral hearing in relation to College Green. A decision is expected from An Bord Pleanála in August/September of this year. **Update noted.**

- Draft Dublin City Council Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2018
 It was agreed to refer the Draft Dublin City Council Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2018 to the City Council for approval to initiate the public consultation process.
- 5. Strategic Plan for Coach Parking in Dublin City Council Administrative Area

Mr Andy Walsh, Senior Engineer, gave an update on coach parking in Dublin. **Report noted.**

6. 4-axle vehicles and the HGV Permit system – presentation

Mr Brendan O'Brien, a/Executive Manager (Traffic), gave a presentation on this item.

Presentation noted.

- 7. Electric Vehicle Charging for residents of terraced houses or apartments. **Item deferred to next meeting of the Transportation SPC.**
- 8. National Transport Authority Capital Project funding 2018 Item deferred to next meeting of the Transportation SPC.

- 9. Public Realm Strategy implementation **verbal update Item deferred to next meeting of the Transportation SPC.**
- 10. Smart Phone usage in public Item deferred to next meeting of the Transportation SPC.
- 11. Minutes of Cycling and Walking Sub-Committee meeting held on 18th January, 2018

Cycling and Walking Sub-Committee Minutes noted.

Motions

12. Motion in the name of Councillor Paul Hand:

"That this SPC requests that Dublin City Council improve their traffic monitoring of Bus Lanes and requests that An Garda Siochana increase enforcement of private vehicles using the bus lane. To this end we request that this motion be sent to the CEO Owen Keegan and the Garda Commissioner for their due consideration."

It was agreed to forward a report to the Councillor.

13. Motion in the name of Mr. Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network:

"To assist in on street decluttering of poles on footpaths can the following be agreed:

- 1. Where there is a bus shelter and real time pole that the real time unit is integrated inside the shelter as is the case in Belfast for example and also where a bus stop pole and real time pole are together that the bus stop pole be removed and the stop headplate be attached to the realtime pole.
- 2. That all speed limit poles be removed and instead the speeds be written clearly on the roadway.

If this is approved then it would result in several hundred poles being removed from the city's footpaths which benefits people with disabilities and the older element of the population the most."

Mr Brendan O'Brien, a/Executive Manager (Traffic), in response to part 1 said that the decision was made at the time not to combine real time units with bus shelters due to possible vandalism. The units which are two-sided, were placed on poles to be seen from either side.

Report will be forwarded to Mr Hoey.

AOB:

In relation to the request for an update on Stationless Bikes, Mr Kevin Meade, Senior Executive Officer, said that 18th April, 2018, was the closing date for applications from operators. Five high quality applications were received. An Assessment Board was formed today (19th April, 2018) and the first licenses are expected to be issued in early May, 2018.

Cllr. Ciaran Cuffe Chairperson 20th April 2018

Attendance:

SPC Members:

Cllr Ciarán Cuffe, Chairperson; Cllr Tom Brabazon; Cllr Mannix Flynn; Cllr Paul Hand; Cllr Teresa Keegan, Cllr Frank Kennedy; Cllr Paddy McCartan; Cllr Ruairí McGinley; Cllr Ray McHugh; Cllr Ciarán O'Moore, Cllr Paddy Smyth.

Ms Fiona Kelty, National Council for the Blind of Ireland; Mr Frank Mulligan, Irish Road Haulage Association; Mr Richard Guiney, Dublin City Business Improvement District t/a Dublin Town; Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking Association; Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Mr Barry Aldworth, AA Ireland Ltd.

Apologies:

Dublin City Council Staff:

Mr Brendan O'Brien, Acting Executive Manager (Traffic); Ms Céline Reilly, Executive Manager; Mr Kevin Meade, Senior Executive Officer; Mr Frank Lambe, Senior Executive Officer; Ms Siobhan Maher, Administrative Officer.

Mr Andy Walsh, Senior Engineer, Transportation Operations; Mr Dermot Stevenson, a/Senior Executive Engineer; Mr William Mangan, a/Senior Executive Engineer;

Mr Neil O'Donoghue, Executive ITS Officer, Traffic Management and Control.

Mr Stephen Hickey, Senior Staff Officer; Ms Mary Boyle, Staff Officer; Mr Michael Mann, Staff Officer; Mr Fergal McKay, Assistant Staff Officer, Mr. Patrick Davis, Clerical Officer;

National Transport Authority: Ms Anne Graham, CEO; Mr Dermot O'Gara, Head of Public Affairs.

Transport Infrastructure Ireland: Mr Aidan Foley, Project Director Metrolink; Mr Peter Walsh, Director Capital Programme Management.